碳定年法

碳定年法
 - 前提

碳定年法——它是什么和作用原理
碳定年法的作用原理是:碳是大气、地球、海洋和任何生物体内大量存在的自然元素。碳-12是最常见的同位素,约1兆碳原子中只有一个碳-14。在上层大气中当氮-14(N-14)由于宇宙射线轰击发生改变就产生碳-14(一个质子被中子所代替,有效地将氮原子变成碳的同位素)。这种新的同位素被叫做“放射性碳”,因为它具有放射性,不过没有危险性。它自然是不稳定的,一段时间后会自发衰变为氮-14。半个放射性碳的样本要衰变成为氮大约要有5,730年。其余的碳的一半的衰变又要经过5,730年,再剩下的碳的一半又再要5,730年,依此类推。半个样本衰变的时间被成为“半衰期”。

放射性碳氧化(即与氧结合)并通过呼吸饮食等过程进入生物圈。在动植物的生命过程里,其组织中自然地纳入大量存在的碳-12同位素,同时也纳入这种极其稀有的放射性同位素,其比例约和两者在大气中的比例是一样的。当生物死亡时,它不再消耗放射性碳,而已经在它体内的碳-14会持续衰变为氮。所以,如果我们发现一个死亡生物遗体内的碳-12和碳-14的比例是应有比例的一半(即:一个碳-14比两兆碳-12,而不是一比一兆),我们就可以认为这个生物死了约5,730年(因为一半的放射性碳没有了,应该是用了5,730年衰变为氮)。如果比例是应有比例的四分之一(一比四兆),我们就认为这个生物死了11,460年(两个半衰期)。经过大约10个半衰期后,剩下的放射性碳的数量就少到无法测量了,因此这种方法不适用于推断60,000年前死去的标本年代。它的另一个局限是这种技术只能用于有机材料,如骨骼、肌体或树木。它不能直接用作测定岩石。

碳定年法:前提
碳定年法是一种基于以下三项参数的定年技术:

  • 不稳定的碳-14同位素衰变为稳定的无放射性的氮-14同位素的速度,
  • 在既定标本中碳-12和碳-14的比率,
  • 以及在标本死亡时大气中碳-12和碳-14的比率。

碳定年法:争议
对于碳定年法的争议主要由于以下两个原因:第一,它的先决条件是一系列不确定的假设。例如,我们必须假设衰变的速度(即5,730年的半衰期)在无法观测的过去是恒定的。然而,有确定证据表明在无法观测的过去,放射性衰变是大大加速的1。我们还必须假定大气中碳-12和碳-14的比率在整个无法观测的过去是恒定的(所以我们才能知道标本死亡时的比率)。但是我们知道,“放射性碳的形成比它的衰变要快28-37%” 2,这就意味着它未曾达到平衡,也就意味着现在的比率高于无法观测到的过去的比率。我们还知道工业革命期间由于工厂二氧化碳排放的急剧增长造成这个比率下降。这种人为的浮动不是自然现象,但它表明浮动是有可能的,而且自然灾变时期对地球的影响也可能大大影响这个比率。火山喷发的二氧化碳也可能同样显著地降低这个比率。如果这样测算的话,在剧烈火山活动期间生存或死亡的标本看起来会比其实际年代久远。这个比率还会受到大气中产生碳-14的速度的影响,因为进入地球大气的宇宙射线的数量会影响碳-14产生的速度。进入地球大气的宇宙射线的数量本身也要受到地球磁场偏转宇宙射线的影响。过去140年进行的精确测量表明了地球磁场力量的稳步衰减。这就意味着放射性碳的产生曾有稳步的增长(而这会提高比率)。

最后,这种定年方法颇受争议还因为所测出的年代常常极不相符。例如,“迪玛(1977年发现的一个著名的小猛犸象)的一部分测出是40,000RCY(放射碳年),而另一部分是26,000 RCY,而就在它旁边发现的木头的时间是9,000-10,000 RCY。(沃尔特•布朗,《世界之初》,2001年,176页)

?? 碳定年法 Page 2

  1. D. R. 哈姆弗雷,J. R. 鲍姆噶德纳,S. A. 奥斯丁,及 A. A.斯奈林,《氦的扩散速度支持核衰变加速》,第五届创造论国际年会系列, R.艾维编辑, 创造科学团契,匹兹堡, PA, 2003. 另见: 沃尔特•布朗, 《世界之初》,2001年, 75页,“恒定衰变”标题下。

  2. 布朗, 同上, 246页。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。这是什么?




与他人分享:

Carbon Dating

allaboutarchaeology

Carbon Dating - What Is It And How Does It Work?
This is how carbon dating works: Carbon is a naturally abundant element found in the atmosphere, in the earth, in the oceans, and in every living creature. C-12 is by far the most common isotope, while only about one in a trillion carbon atoms is C-14. C-14 is produced in the upper atmosphere when nitrogen-14 (N-14) is altered through the effects of cosmic radiation bombardment (a proton is displaced by a neutron effectively changing the nitrogen atom into a carbon isotope). The new isotope is called "radiocarbon" because it is radioactive, though it is not dangerous. It is naturally unstable and so it will spontaneously decay back into N-14 after a period of time. It takes about 5,730 years for half of a sample of radiocarbon to decay back into nitrogen. It takes another 5,730 for half of the remainder to decay, and then another 5,730 for half of what's left then to decay and so on. The period of time that it takes for half of a sample to decay is called a "half-life."

Radiocarbon oxidizes (that is, it combines with oxygen) and enters the biosphere through natural processes like breathing and eating. Plants and animals naturally incorporate both the abundant C-12 isotope and the much rarer radiocarbon isotope into their tissues in about the same proportions as the two occur in the atmosphere during their lifetimes. When a creature dies, it ceases to consume more radiocarbon while the C-14 already in its body continues to decay back into nitrogen. So, if we find the remains of a dead creature whose C-12 to C-14 ratio is half of what it's supposed to be (that is, one C-14 atom for every two trillion C-12 atoms instead of one in every trillion) we can assume the creature has been dead for about 5,730 years (since half of the radiocarbon is missing, it takes about 5,730 years for half of it to decay back into nitrogen). If the ratio is a quarter of what it should be (one in every four trillion) we can assume the creature has been dead for 11,460 year (two half-lives). After about 10 half-lives, the amount of radiocarbon left becomes too miniscule to measure and so this technique isn't useful for dating specimens which died more than 60,000 years ago. Another limitation is that this technique can only be applied to organic material such as bone, flesh, or wood. It can't be used to date rocks directly.

Carbon Dating - The Premise
Carbon dating is a dating technique predicated upon three things:

  • The rate at which the unstable radioactive C-14 isotope decays into the stable non-radioactive N-14 isotope,
  • The ratio of C-12 to C-14 found in a given specimen,
  • And the ratio C-12 to C-14 found in the atmosphere at the time of the specimen's death.

Carbon Dating - The Controversy
Carbon dating is controversial for a couple of reasons. First of all, it's predicated upon a set of questionable assumptions. We have to assume, for example, that the rate of decay (that is, a 5,730 year half-life) has remained constant throughout the unobservable past. However, there is strong evidence which suggests that radioactive decay may have been greatly accelerated in the unobservable past.1 We must also assume that the ratio of C-12 to C-14 in the atmosphere has remained constant throughout the unobservable past (so we can know what the ratio was at the time of the specimen's death). And yet we know that "radiocarbon is forming 28-37% faster than it is decaying,"2 which means it hasn't yet reached equilibrium, which means the ratio is higher today than it was in the unobservable past. We also know that the ratio decreased during the industrial revolution due to the dramatic increase of CO2 produced by factories. This man-made fluctuation wasn't a natural occurrence, but it demonstrates the fact that fluctuation is possible and that a period of natural upheaval upon the earth could greatly affect the ratio. Volcanoes spew out CO2 which could just as effectively decrease the ratio. Specimens which lived and died during a period of intense volcanism would appear older than they really are if they were dated using this technique. The ratio can further be affected by C-14 production rates in the atmosphere, which in turn is affected by the amount of cosmic rays penetrating the earth's atmosphere. The amount of cosmic rays penetrating the earth's atmosphere is itself affected by things like the earth's magnetic field which deflects cosmic rays. Precise measurements taken over the last 140 years have shown a steady decay in the strength of the earth's magnetic field. This means there's been a steady increase in radiocarbon production (which would increase the ratio).

And finally, this dating scheme is controversial because the dates derived are often wildly inconsistent. For example, "One part of Dima [a famous baby mammoth discovered in 1977] was 40,000 RCY [Radiocarbon Years], another was 26,000 RCY, and 'wood found immediately around the carcass' was 9,000-10,000 RCY." (Walt Brown, In the Beginning, 2001, p. 176)

Read Carbon Dating Page 2 Now!

  1. D. R. Humphreys, J. R. Baumgardner, S. A. Austin, and A. A., Snelling, "Helium diffusion rates support accelerated nuclear decay," in Proceedings of the Fifth International Conference on Creationism, R. Ivey, Ed., Creation Science Fellowship, Pittsburgh, PA, 2003. See also: Walt Brown, In the Beginning, 2001, p. 75, under "Constant Decay?"
  2. Brown, ibid, p. 246.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?