《圣经》考古

《圣经》考古
 - 圣经中的城市

《圣经》考古:亚伯拉罕时代的城市
《圣经》考古常开始于亚伯拉罕和族长们的早期城市。亚伯拉罕祖先的城市吾珥,是美索不达米亚的一个强盛城邦,在旧约中提到四次。吾珥位于现在的伊拉克,自十九世纪以来断断续续的发掘工作已经显露了大量亚伯拉罕时代的异教文化信息。在创世记11:31中,亚伯拉罕的父亲,他拉,举家北迁到哈兰,一个现存于土耳其的古城。在土耳其当地还有与亚伯拉罕的祖父和曾祖父拿鹤和西鹿(创世记11:22)同名的村落。

《圣经考古》:古代帝国的城市
《圣经》考古包括主要古代帝国的都城。例如,整个《旧约》都有提及的赫梯文明,它曾统治今天的土耳其、叙利亚和黎巴嫩,而除《圣经》之外,没有其它资料记述。约100年前,在土耳其的安卡拉东部发现了古城博戈科尔,证明是赫梯帝国的开放都城。自那时起,考古学家们已经发现了在此之前一直被许多学者认为是一个“想象中”民族的丰富的历史、语言和文化资料。巴比伦,古代巴比伦帝国的首都,在今天的伊拉克南55英里的地方,占地近3,000英亩。其遗迹包括著名的金字形神塔结构(如巴别塔)、尼布甲尼撒王王宫,以及厚达80英尺的巨型城墙(其宽度足以使驷马战车掉头)。《圣经》说尼布甲尼撒在公元前588年摧毁了耶路撒冷,并将犹太人放逐巴比伦达70年之久。非利士人被称为“海上民族”之一,他们不断为了控制迦南而与古代以色列人争战。《旧约》中不止两百次提到非利士人在地中海上建立的坚固海港阿什凯泽,它已在现在的加沙北部被发现。如耶利米和其他先知预言的,尼布甲尼撒在公元前604年摧毁了阿什凯泽。

《圣经》考古:古代以色列的城市
《圣经》考古在古代以色列的城市里发现了它的根本意义。《圣经》提到耶利哥不止50次,它是以色列人进入应许之地的最初入口(约书亚记6章)。考古学已经确定了这个坚固城池中防范从东面进入迦南地的城墙和塔楼的位置。示剑是贯穿整个《旧约》的一个重要城市。实际上,耶罗波安在公元前10世纪使它成为以色列北部帝国的首都(列王记上12:25)。考古发掘工作已发现了亚比米勒故事中的巨大城墙和防御城门系统,其中包括重要的巴力庙等发现(士师记9:46)。北部的发掘工作还现出了城,原为公元前1150年左右以色列人攻克的一个迦南人(尤其是但族)的要塞(士师记18)。城市重建后成为以色列的北部边界,生产出大量具有《圣经》意义的手工制品。以色列南部边界是别士巴,在所罗门王时代成为设防城市(列王记上4:25)。1969至1976年间的考古发掘发现了大量与《圣经》描述一致的城墙、城门、水井和货仓。早先大卫王最初征服时代的耶路撒冷古城,也在1978到1985年间被发现和发掘。之前,除《圣经》外关于大卫王的耶路撒冷没有任何记载。而现在那里却发现了宫殿、高塔还有著名的西罗亚池(撒母耳记上,历代志上)。基比亚的古代遗址也在耶路撒冷北部约3英里处发现。基比亚曾是扫罗和便雅悯族的家乡(士师记19和撒母耳记上10-15)。考古发掘的扫罗城堡宫殿,可以追溯到公元前约1100年。米吉多曾是以色列在北部征服的一个迦南城市。它是一个高墙环绕的城堡,坐落在一座小山上,靠近曾经见证许多古代争战的广阔平原。公元前10世纪,所罗门王在这个城市设防(列王记上4:12),后来,在公元前7世纪,约西亚王在那里与埃及人打仗失利。按照《启示录》16:16,米吉多(也被称为哈米吉多顿)正是世界末日决战的战场,在那里耶稣基督将击败撒旦的力量并建立他的万世荣耀之国。

现在发现更多!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。这是什么?




与他人分享:

Bible Archaeology

allaboutarchaeology

Bible Archaeology: Cities of Abraham's Time
Bible Archaeology often begins with the early cities of Abraham and the Patriarchs. Abraham's ancestral home of Ur, a powerful city-state of southern Mesopotamia, is mentioned four times in the Old Testament. Located in modern Iraq, Ur has been excavated on and off since the 1800s and has revealed a wealth of information about the pagan culture of Abraham's time. In Genesis 11:31, Abraham's father, Terah, moved his family north to Haran, an ancient city that exists in modern-day Turkey. Also found in that same area of Turkey are villages that still have the names of Abraham's grandfather and great grandfather, Nahor and Serug (Genesis 11:22).

Bible Archaeology: Cities of Ancient Empires
Bible Archaeology includes the capital cities of the major ancient empires. For instance, the Hittite civilization is mentioned throughout the Old Testament as ruling the area of present-day Turkey, Syria and Lebanon, yet nothing was known of these people outside of the Bible. About 100 years ago, ancient Boghazkoy was discovered east of Ankara, Turkey, which revealed itself as the expansive capital city of the Hittite Empire. Since then, archaeologists have uncovered a wealth of information about the history, language and culture of a people considered "imaginary" to many scholars prior to that time. Babylon, the ancient capital of the Babylonian Empire, covers nearly 3,000 acres about 55 miles south of current-day Baghdad in Iraq. The ruins include the famous ziggurat structures (ex., the Tower of Babel), the Palace of King Nebuchadnezzar, and the enormous walls that measured 80 feet thick (wide enough to allow a four-horse chariot to turn). The Bible tells us that Nebuchadnezzar destroyed Jerusalem in 586 BC and exiled the Jews to Babylon for 70 years. The Philistines were known as one of the "Sea Peoples" that constantly warred against the Israelites for control of early Canaan. Mentioned over 200 times in the Old Testament, the Philistines had a major fortified seaport at Ashkelon on the Mediterranean Sea, which was discovered just north of present-day Gaza. Nebuchadnezzar destroyed Ashkelon in 604 BC, as predicted by Jeremiah and other prophets.

Bible Archaeology: Cities of Ancient Israel
Bible archaeology finds its ultimate significance in the cities of ancient Israel. Mentioned more than 50 times in the Bible, Jericho was the initial entry point into the Promised Land for the Israelite people (Joshua 6). Archaeology has now confirmed the location of this fortified city of walls and towers that guarded entry to the land of Canaan from the east. Shechem was an important city throughout the Old Testament. In fact, Jeroboam made it the capital of the northern kingdom of Israel in the 10th century BC (1 Kings 12:25). Excavations have uncovered huge walls and a fortified gate system containing such important finds as the temple of Baal from the story of Abimelech (Judges 9:46). Excavations in the north have also revealed the city of Dan, which was a Canaanite stronghold conquered by Israel (specifically, the tribe of Dan) around 1150 BC (Judges 18). The rebuilt city, which became the northern boundary of Israel, has delivered a wealth of artifacts with biblical importance. The southern boundary of Israel was Beersheba, which became a fortified city during the period of King Solomon (1 Kings 4:25). Excavations between 1969 and 1976 have revealed massive walls, gates, wells and storehouses consistent with biblical accounts. The ancient city of Jerusalem, dating to the time of King David's initial conquest, was discovered and excavated between 1978 and 1985. Prior to this time, nothing apart from the Bible was known about King David's Jerusalem, which has now revealed a palace, towers and the famous Siloam spring (2 Samuel and 1 Chronicles). The ancient ruins of Gibeah were discovered about three miles north of Jerusalem. Gibeah was the home to Saul and the tribe of Benjamin, and later became King Saul's capital city (Judges 19 and 1 Samuel 10-15). Excavations have revealed Saul's fortress palace dated to about 1100 BC. Uncover More Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?